Our whole cycling trip in one song

The video is to the song  “Vivir Mi Vida” by Marc Anthony. Love it or hate it, this song followed us around throughout Latin America and we heard it everywhere. As time passed and we learned more Spanish, the lyrics started to really speak to us and our trip. The full lyrics (Spanish and translated into English) is listed below but in short, the song talks about how you have to live life to the fullest.

Laugh, dance, live your life because you only have one.

We cycled over 16,000km in 19 months from Vancouver all through the Pacific coast of the US, down Baja California in Mexico, sailing to mainland Mexico and working our way south through Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, sailing through the Darian Gap to Colombia and South America. In South America, we cycled down the spine of the Andes through Colombia, Ecuador, Peru (checking out Gocta, the world’s third tallest waterfall, the ruins of Kuelap and Machu Picchu) before entering the Altiplano, a high plateau in the Andes with an average of 3600m. We cycled even higher up over 4000m in Northern Chile, with our highest point an offroading pass at nearly 4800m elevation, then returned to Bolivia for the surreal salt flats, Salar de Coipasa and Salar de Uyuni. From Bolivia, we went into Argentina, cycled south about half way down then cut east towards Buenos Aires. From Buenos Aires, we took a repositioning cruise to LA, a train from LA to Seattle and finally three days of riding back home. We rolled out from our doorstep on Sept 3, 2013 and retraced our steps home on the same ferry through the San Juan islands in Washington state, cycling back into our driveway at home on April 5, 2015.

We laughed, we danced, we enjoyed, we dreamed and kept moving forward….

….and it was an awesome blast of a time!!

Vivir Mi Vida (Live My Life)

Voy a reír, voy a bailar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna dance)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la ( live my life, la, la, la, la)
Voy a reír, voy a gozar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna enjoy)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la   (live my life, la, la, la, la)

A veces llega la lluvia (Sometimes rain comes)
para limpiar las heridas  (to clean wounds)
A veces sólo una gota  (Sometimes just a drop)
puede vencer la sequía  (can overcome the drought)

Y para qué llorar, ¿Pa’ qué?  (And why cry, for what?)
Si duele una pena, se olvida  (If it hurts bad, forget it)
Y para qué sufrir, ¿Pa’ qué?  (And why suffer, for what?)
Si así es la vida, hay que vivirla  (If life is like this, you must live it)

Voy a reír, voy a bailar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna dance)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la ( live my life, la, la, la, la)
Voy a reír, voy a gozar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna enjoy)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la   (live my life, la, la, la, la)

Voy a vivir el momento  (I’m gonna live in the moment)
para entender el destino  (to understand the fate)
Voy a escuchar en silencio  (I’m gonna listen in silence)
para encontrar el camino  (to find the way)

Y para qué llorar, ¿Pa’ qué?  (And why cry, for what?)
Si duele una pena, se olvida  (If it hurts bad, forget it)
Y para qué sufrir, ¿Pa’ qué?  (And why suffer, for what?)
Si duele una pena, se olvida (If it hurts bad, forget it)

Voy a reír, voy a bailar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna dance)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la ( live my life, la, la, la, la)
Voy a reír, voy a gozar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna enjoy)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la   (live my life, la, la, la, la)

¡Mi gente! (My people!)

Voy a reír, voy a bailar  (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna dance)
¿Pa’ qué llorar? ¿Pa’ qué sufrir?  (Why mourn? Why suffer?)
Empieza a soñar, a reír  (Start dreaming, laughing)
Voy a reír, voy a bailar  (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna dance)
Siente y baila y goza, (Feel and dance and enjoy,)
que la vida es una sola  (you only live once)
Voy a reír, voy a bailar (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna dance)
Vive, sigue, siempre pa’lante,  (Live, always keep moving forward)
no mires pa’ atrás  (Don’t look back)

Mi gente, la vida es una  (My people, you only live once)

Voy a reír, voy a bailar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna dance)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la ( live my life, la, la, la, la)
Voy a reír, voy a gozar   (I’m gonna laugh, I’m gonna enjoy)
vivir mi vida, la, la, la, la   (live my life, la, la, la, la)

2 thoughts on “Our whole cycling trip in one song

Leave a Reply - I love your comments!

